Table of ContentsLibraryView in Frames

Explicit deletion of Snapshot copies

You can explicitly delete any backups or Snapshot copies of LUNs created during a restore operation by selecting them. You can delete either an individual backup or multiple backups.

When you explicitly delete backups, you can also ensure that the deletion is limited so as not to create a break in the continuity of the transaction logs between the previous backup and the present time. Doing so allows you to retain up-to-the-minute restore ability for older backups from other management groups.
Attention: Do not use SnapDrive or the storage system administration tools to delete Snapshot copies created by SnapManager. Doing so leaves behind unwanted data that you cannot remove.

You can delete individual selected Snapshot copies for either full database backups or transaction logs. You can also select a database to be deleted, the types of backup set components to be deleted (full database backups or SnapInfo directory backups), and the type of backup management group to be deleted for multiple backups.

When you explicitly delete backup sets (or related SnapInfo Snapshot copies) that contain selected Storage Groups, you can expand the scope of the deletion to include backups that contain only some of the selected Storage Groups (in addition to backups that contain all the selected Storage Groups).

Related concepts
Option to retain up-to-the-minute restore ability
Database restore operation using SnapManager
Related tasks
Explicitly deleting individual backup copies
Explicitly deleting Snapshot copies created by SnapManager Restore