You can manage the number of Snapshot copies you store by configuring SnapManager to delete backups automatically, based on how old the backups are or based on how many of them are stored.
Automatic deletion deletes a backup only if the backup has the following characteristics:
- The backup is in the same management group as the management group of the backups that you just created.
- The backup is the oldest backup of the Storage Group
- The number of backups exceeds the backup retention level that you specified in the “Delete backups older than” option or the “Delete backups in excess of” option.
Note: If a storage group is no longer available in the Exchange server, then backups associated with it can not be removed by the delete backup module .
If you do not select automatic backup deletion, backups that are created after the current backup are retained. This would require manual removal of backups, or enough storage capacity for all backups and transaction logs. You can delete the retained backups by selecting automatic backup deletion in the next backup that you take.