Database integrity verification options
Use the Verification Settings dialog box to specify the verification server and configure database verification options. See the following topics for more information:
Selecting the database verification server
To view or change the verification server, complete the following steps from the production SQL Server and not from a remote verification server.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
If you are specifying a remote verification server, be sure it is set up properly, as described in Requirements for a remote verification server.
|
|
2
|
From the production SQL Server (and not from a remote verification server), open the Verification Settings dialog box.
- From the SnapManager menu bar, select Options > Database Verification Settings.
- From the SnapManager tool bar, click the Verification Settings icon.
- From the Backup Wizard, go to the View or Change Verification Settings screen, and then click Verification Settings.
- From the Restore Wizard, go to the Verify the Databases in this Backup screen, and then click Verification Settings.
Result
The Verification Settings dialog box appears. The SQL Server tab is active by default and displays the host name of the current verification server.
|
|
3
|
In the SQL Server box, specify the SQL Server instance you want to use as the database verification server.
Note If you plan to specify a remote verification server, ensure that the server is set up properly, as described in Requirements for a remote verification server.
|
|
4
|
In the Connection panel, choose the security authentication method to be used to connect to the SQL Server.
- Windows authentication
- SQL Server authentication
If you choose Windows authentication mode (the default selection), users with a valid Windows account can log in to Microsoft SQL Server without supplying a user name and password. Windows Authentication relies on the user being authenticated by the operating system and takes advantage of Windows user security and account mechanisms.
Note Windows Authentication is the authentication mode recommended by Microsoft.
|
|
5
|
If you selected SQL Server authentication, also specify the login name and password.
For more information, see SnapManager service account requirements.
|
|
6
|
Click OK.
Result
The Verification Settings dialog box closes.
Note Until you change these settings, database verification is run from the SQL Server you selected using the options you specified. It does not necessarily run on the system from which you opened the Verification Settings dialog box. It does not affect any database verification jobs that are already scheduled.
|
Selecting DBCC options
To specify which DBCC options are used to verify database backup Snapshot copies, complete the following steps.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
Open the Verification Settings dialog box.
- From the SnapManager menu bar, select Options > Database Verification Settings.
- From the SnapManager tool bar, click the Verification Settings icon.
- From the Backup Wizard, go to the View or Change Verification Settings screen, and then click Verification Settings.
- From the Restore Wizard, go to the Verify the Databases in this Backup screen, and then click Verification Settings.
Result
The Verification Settings dialog box appears. The SQL Server tab is active by default and displays the host name of the current verification server.
|
|
2
|
Click the DBCC Options tab.
Result
The DBCC Options tab displays the currently selected DBCC options.
|
|
3
|
In the DBCC Options panel, select all of the options you want to use:
- NOINDEX
- ALL_ERRORMSGS
- NO_INFOMSGS
- TABLOCK
- PHYSICAL_ONLY
For more information about these options, see your Microsoft SQL Server documentation.
Note By default, none of these options is selected.
|
|
4
|
By default, the database is detached after the DBCC utility finishes.
|
|
If...
|
Then...
|
|
If you want to detach the database after the verification finishes
|
Deselect the Leave Database Attached After Verification option.
|
|
If you want to leave the database attached after the verification finishes
|
Select the Leave Database Attached After Verification option.
If a database verification (with or without a full database backup) is started or scheduled with this option enabled, a message box will notify you that this option is set and will prompt you to confirm that you want to continue. Unless you explicitly detach the database and dismount the Snapshot copy LUNs after this operation completes, subsequent backup operations on this database will encounter busy Snapshot copies.
|
|
5
|
Click OK.
Result
The Verification Settings dialog box closes.
|
Using the Access LUN in Snapshot tab
Use the Access LUN in Snapshot tab to specify how SnapManager is to access the database backup Snapshot copies during database integrity verification.
Related topics
To specify which method to use to access database backup Snapshot copies during the database integration verification, complete the following steps.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
Click the Access LUN in Snapshot tab.
|
|
From the...
|
Do this...
|
|
Configuration Wizard
|
Go to the Database Verification and Account Authentication screen and select Advanced.
|
|
SnapManager Main menu bar
|
Select Options > Database Verification Setting, and then click the Access LUN in Snapshot tab.
|
|
Backup Wizard
|
Go to the Verify the Databases and Transaction Logs in this Backup screen, click Verification Settings, and then click the Access LUN in Snapshot tab.
|
|
Restore Wizard
|
Go to the Verify Databases in this Backup screen, click Verification Settings, and then click the Access LUN in Snapshot tab.
|
|
2
|
Assign either a drive letter or a directory path to access the backup Snapshot copy as a mounted LUN. By default, the default mount directory path appears as follows:
"C:\ProgramFiles\NetApp\SnapMaanger for SQL Server\SnapMgrMountPoint".
|
|
If you want to...
|
Then...
|
|
Mount the Snapshot copy on the next available drive letter
|
Select the "Automatically assign available drive letter" option.
|
|
Mount the Snapshot copy on a specific NTFS mount point
|
Do the following:
- Select the "Mount in an
empty NTFS directory"
option.
- Enter or browse to the
directory path of an NTFS
mount point.
Note This mount point will be used, if SnapManager is configured to use drive letters but runs out of available drive letters.
|
|
3
|
Click OK.
Result
The Verification Settings dialog box closes. After the database verification, the Snapshot copy directory created in the default mount point directory path is dismounted automatically.
|
Copyright © 1994-2006, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 215-01752_A0
File: cfgappl5.htm
Last updated: 01-Sep-2006 07:41:28