Use the Restore Settings dialog box to configure default settings for SnapManager restore operations. See the following topics for more information:
The following table describes each of the database restore options.
Restore option
|
Description
|
Default
|
|
Recover database without restoring at the end of restore, if needed
|
If this option is selected and the database is not fully operational, SnapManager skips the restore and instead recovers the database to its previous state.
|
Not selected
|
|
Restore databases even if existing databases are online
|
If this option is selected and an existing database is online at the time of the restore operation, SnapManager proceeds with the restore and overwrites the existing database.
|
Not selected
|
|
Retain SQL database replication settings
|
If this option is selected and you are restoring databases for an SQL Server instance that is acting as a Publisher or as a Subscriber in a replication topology, the replication relationship is retained after the SnapManager restore operation finishes.
|
Not selected
|
|
Create transaction log backup before restore
|
If this option is not selected, SnapManager does not create a transaction log backup before the restore is performed, thereby decreasing overall restore time.
Deselect this option under the following circumstances:
- You already have another restore Snapshot copy of the transaction log and you want to decrease restore time.
- You are recovering from a mirrored backup for which the transaction log files were lost. Disabling this option avoids subsequent creation of SnapManager backup sets on a recovery path that is inconsistent with that of the database.
- You are restoring a log-shipped database.
|
Selected
|
|
Abort database restore if transaction log backup before restore fails
|
This option is available if the "Create transaction log backup before restore" option is selected. If this option is selected and the transaction log backup before restore fails, SnapManager aborts the database restore operations.
|
Not selected
|
To configure the profile of a restore operation, complete the following steps.