Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments

Deleting restored Snapshot copies

To explicitly delete the oldest LUN Snapshot copies created during previous restore operations, complete the following steps.

Step

Action

1

In the SnapManager main window, go to the menu bar and select Action > Delete Backup.

Result

The Delete Backups dialog box appears.

Note
You can also use the Delete Backups dialog box to explicitly delete backup Snapshot copies. For details, see Explicit deletion of backup Snapshot copies.

2

Select the Delete Snapshot copy of LUNs Created During Restore option.

Result

The Snapshot copies to Delete panel displays options pertaining to deleting restore Snapshot copies.

3

Specify which Snapshot copies you want to delete.

If you want to...

Then...

Delete only the oldest restore Snapshot copies

  1. Select the Delete Oldest Snapshot copies In Excess Of option
  2. Specify how many of the newest restore Snapshot copies you want to preserve.

Delete all the restore Snapshot copies

Select the Delete All Snapshot copies Created During Restore option.

4

You can proceed with the delete operation immediately, or you can view the list of restore Snapshot copies currently selected for deletion.

If you want to...

Then...

View the list of restore Snapshot copies that would be deleted

Go to Step 5.

Delete the restore Snapshot copies

Click Delete.

Result

The restore Snapshot copies identified by your selections are deleted. When the deletion is complete, a message box appears. You have completed this procedure.

5

Click Delete Preview.

Result

The Delete Backup Data Set Preview dialog box appears. After a moment, the dialog box displays a count and list of the restore Snapshot copies identified for deletion.

If you want to view a report, click Show Report.

6

Based on the contents of the preview list, you can either cancel the operation or proceed.

If you want to...

Then...

Cancel the operation

  1. Click Close to close the Delete Backup Data Set Preview dialog box.
  2. Click Close to close the Delete Backups dialog box.

Delete the restore Snapshot copies listed in the preview

  1. Click Close to close the Delete Backup Data Set Preview dialog box.
  2. Click Delete on the Delete Backups dialog box.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments