When specifying a single-database restore operation, you can choose the state that you want the database to be left in after the restore operation finishes. See the following topics for more information:
If you are performing a multiple-database restore operation, see Specifying the post-restore state of multiple databases.
When using the SnapManager Restore tab to restore a single database, you use the Restore Option dialog box to specify the state in which the database is to be left after the restore operation finishes.
To specify the database post-restore state for a single-database restore operation started using the SnapManager Restore tab, complete the following steps.
| 1 |
From the SnapManager Restore tab, open the Restore Option dialog box.
ResultThe Restore Option dialog box appears and prompts you to select the post-backup state for the database. |
|
| 2 |
Select the state that you want the database to be left in after the restore operation finishes:
For descriptions of these options, see Understanding post-restore database recovery states. |
|
| 3 |
If you selected "Leave database read-only and able to restore additional transaction logs," you must also specify the undo file. You can either type the file name in the Undo File box or click "..." to browse to the file. |
|
| 4 |
Click OK to close the dialog box. |
|
| 5 |
Continue with Step 15 in the procedure described in Restoring using the SnapManager Restore tab. |
|
When using the Restore Wizard to restore a single database, you use the Database State After the Restore screen to specify the state that you want the database to be left in after the restore operation finishes.
To specify the database post-restore state for a single-database restore operation started using the Restore Wizard, complete the following steps.
| 1 |
Step through the Restore Wizard screens, specifying a single-database restore operation, until you reach the Database State After the Restore screen. This is described in Restoring using the SnapManager Restore Wizard. Step 6 of that procedure lists the names of the Restore Wizard screens. ResultThe Database State After the Restore screen prompts you to choose the post-backup state for the databases. |
|
| 2 |
In the Database State After the Restore screen, select the state that you want the database to be left in after the restore operation is finished:
For descriptions of these options, see Understanding post-restore database recovery states. |
|
| 3 |
If you selected the "Leave database nonoperational..." option or the "Leave database read-only..." option, you must also specify the undo file. You can either type the file name in the Undo File box or click "..." to browse to the file. |
|
| 4 |
To apply your settings and proceed to the next screen of the Restore Wizard, click Next. ResultThe Restore wizard displays the Restored Database Name screen. |
|
| 5 |
Continue with Step 6 in the procedure described in Restoring using the SnapManager Restore Wizard. |
|
Copyright © 1994-2006, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 215-01752_A0
File: restopt3.htm
Last updated: 01-Sep-2006 07:41:33