SnapManager backup options
Use the Backup Settings dialog box to configure default settings for SnapManager backup operations. See the following topics for more information:
Configuring the profile of a full database backup
To configure the profile of a full database backup, complete the following steps.
Note
For a complete list of parameters that are applied to a full database backup operation, see Information you need to specify for a full database backup.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
Open the Backup Settings dialog box.
- From the SnapManager menu bar, select Options > Backup Settings.
- From the SnapManager tool bar, click the Backup Settings icon.
- From the Backup Wizard, go to the Other Options screen and then click Backup Settings.
Result
The Backup Settings dialog box appears. The Full Database Backup tab is active by default and displays the current settings.
|
|
2
|
In the Maximum Databases to Back Up Concurrently box, specify the maximum number of databases that can be backed up concurrently.
The default value is 255. However, this value can also be configured in the Configuration Wizard.
|
|
3
|
In the "Select a backup naming convention..." panel, specify the naming convention you want used to form database backup Snapshot copy names and SnapInfo directory Snapshot copy names.
For more detailed information, see SnapManager Snapshot naming conventions.
|
|
4
|
In the "Select run verification with live database" panel, select whether you want to run verification against the live database before the backup, after the backup, or both before and after the backup.
- If you want to run the DBCC utility against the live database
before the database is backed up, select the Run DBCC
Physical Integrity Verification Before the Backup option.
- If you want to run the DBCC utility against the live database
after the database is backed up, select the Truncate
Committed Transactions in the Transaction Log option.
Note By default, both options are not selected because database verification is a time-consuming activity.
|
|
5
|
To apply your changes and close the dialog box, click OK.
Result
The new settings will be applied to all subsequent full database backups.
|
Configuring the profile of a transaction log backup
To configure the profile of a transaction log backup, complete the following steps.
Note
For a complete list of parameters that are applied to a transaction log backup operation, see Information you need to specify for a transaction log backup.
Step
|
Action
|
|
1
|
Open the Backup Settings dialog box.
- From the SnapManager menu bar, select Options > Backup Settings.
- From the SnapManager tool bar, click the Backup Settings icon.
- From the Backup Wizard, go to the Other Options screen and then click Backup Settings.
Result
The Backup Settings dialog box appears. The Full Database Backup tab is active by default.
|
|
2
|
In the dialog box, click the Transaction Log Backup tab.
Result
The Transaction Log Backup tab displays the current settings.
|
|
3
|
If you want to create a Snapshot copy of the SnapInfo subdirectory for this backup after the backup finishes, select the "Create Snapshot..." option.
|
|
4
|
If you create a Snapshot copy of the SnapInfo subdirectory for this backup after the backup finishes, you also have the option to automatically delete the oldest Snapshot copies of the SnapInfo subdirectory for this backup.
To choose this, do the following:
- Select the "Delete Oldest Snapshots..." option.
- Select the number of Snapshot copies you want to retain.
|
|
5
|
If you want to remove inactive entries from the transaction log, select the "Remove Inactive Entries..." option.
|
|
6
|
To apply your changes and close the dialog box, click OK.
Result
The new settings will be applied to all subsequent full database backups.
|
Copyright © 1994-2006, Network Appliance, Inc. All rights
reserved.
Part No. 215-01752_A0
File: cfgappl6.htm
Last updated: 01-Sep-2006 07:41:28