Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments

SnapManager restore options

Use the Restore Settings dialog box to configure default settings for SnapManager restore operations. See the following topics for more information:

Understanding the restore options  Top

The following table describes each of the database restore options.

Restore option

Description

Default

Recover database without restoring at the end of restore, if needed

If this option is selected and the database is not fully operational, SnapManager skips the restore and instead recovers the database to its previous state.

Not selected

Restore databases even if existing databases are online

If this option is selected and an existing database is online at the time of the restore operation, SnapManager proceeds with the restore and overwrites the existing database.

Not selected

Retain SQL database replication settings

If this option is selected and you are restoring databases for an SQL Server instance that is acting as a Publisher or as a Subscriber in a replication topology, the replication relationship is retained after the SnapManager restore operation finishes.

Not selected

Create transaction log backup before restore

If this option is not selected, SnapManager does not create a transaction log backup before the restore is performed, thereby decreasing overall restore time.

Deselect this option under the following circumstances:

  • You already have another restore Snapshot copy of the transaction log and you want to decrease restore time.
  • You are recovering from a mirrored backup for which the transaction log files were lost. Disabling this option avoids subsequent creation of SnapManager backup sets on a recovery path that is inconsistent with that of the database.
  • You are restoring a log-shipped database.

Selected

Abort database restore if transaction log backup before restore fails

This option is available if the "Create transaction log backup before restore" option is selected. If this option is selected and the transaction log backup before restore fails, SnapManager aborts the database restore operations.

Not selected

Configuring the profile of a restore operation  Top

To configure the profile of a restore operation, complete the following steps.

Note
For a complete list of parameters that are applied to a database restore operation, see Information you need to perform a restore.

Step

Action

1

Open the Restore Settings dialog box.

  • From the SnapManager menu bar, select Options > Restore Settings.
  • From the SnapManager tool bar, click the Restore Settings icon.
  • From the Restore Wizard, go to the Other Options screen and then click Restore Settings.

Result

The Restore Settings dialog box appears. The Restore Options tab is active by default.

2

Select any combination of the restore options you want to use:

  • Recover database without restoring at the end of restore if needed
  • Restore databases even if existing databases are online
  • Retain SQL database replication settings
  • Create transaction log backup before restore
  • Abort database restore if transaction log backup before restore fails

These options are described in Understanding the restore options.

3

Click OK to apply your changes and close the dialog box.

Result

The new settings will be applied to all subsequent database restore operations.

Library Table of Contents Index Previous Page (Alt-p) Next Page (Alt-n) Comments